To Pay Rise or not to Pay Rise…

…well isn’t that the question? So I have been at this office job for just over 12 months. My boss has not requested a meeting for a Performance Review and I’m a little skeptical if he is actually going to arrange one. So I guess I have had to take matters into my own hands, despite the fact I’m really nervous about making the first move. But hey, what can I say, I deserve (and could certainly do with a few extra dollars in my pocket each week) a raise. I suppose it is never a good time to ask for more money, but I guess that is what separates the determined from the settled. I have prepared my case and am going to arrange a meeting by the end of the week to discuss with my boss. Fingers crossed, because every bit of extra (well deserved) money I can get is going towards my house deposit. My fiance and I are currently living back on the family property, saving our dollars so we can finally get a place of our own. Mind you there are benefits of moving back home, like free rent, a house to ourselves and don’t have to pay rates/maintenance, but still its not where we want to be. I guess I am too proud to have had to move/live back at home. We have been here for 3 years and it feels like an eternity. Don’t get me wrong, I am grateful for the opportunity my parents have given us to live rent free and essentially pay it into our own bank accounts, but at the end of the day, I would love a little place of my own that we can one day start a family in. Well I’d better actually eat some dinner because its already 9:03pm and I haven’t even touched my Beef, Red Wine & Mushroom casserole (with all the mushrooms removed of course! Maybe one day I’ll explain all the reasons why I hate mushrooms, but I’ll leave you to ponder for now…). I’ll keep you posted on the pay rise expedition and hopefully I can offer you all some tips if things go my way. Wish me luck!

Stay awesome 😉

The Girl in the Green Shoes

 

 

One thought on “To Pay Rise or not to Pay Rise…

Leave a Reply

