Everybody has secrets…

I guess that sounds like a bad thing then? It’s not always the case. Secrets and lying are two very different things. A secret is something about yourself you don’t tell anyone, you have never had to lie about something that no one knows. A lie is an excuse about something you don’t want other people to know but you have been backed into a corner, practically forcing you to tell the truth or worse, feel the need to hide from it.

Here I am, 10:39PM, dealing with one of my secrets. It’s not bad, I’m not lying to anyone. I am just doing what I think is best for myself at the time. I don’t believe anyone can truely know you, like really know you. Like everything about you, know you. And you know what? That is okay. Sometimes the only person you can confide in is you. Sometimes the only truth you hide is the one you can’t bare to speak to anyone but yourself.

Everybody and I mean everybody has something to hide, but that doesn’t mean it’s all bad. Sometimes it’s our secrets that allow us to be who we really are. These secrets can make or break you. These secrets can make you scared or confident. They can make you happy or sad. 

Only you can decide if it’s worth confiding in someone. But it’s okay if you don’t want to. It’s all up to you really. For instance there is only one person I know who knows/reads (maybe read just once) this blog, because it’s a secret. I mean my fiancé knows  writing a blog, but he doesn’t know where to find it or what it’s about. To be honest he hates it. He thinks I’m spilling details of my relationship to the world, but I’m not.

This blog is a secret because it helps me deal with my anxiety. It helps me be more confident and helps me grow in ways I never thought were possible. The biggest thing it does, is lets me be, well…me. If people don’t know you, I mean really know you, they can’t judge you in a way that makes you feel ashamed or unappreciated. You can shrug off a person judging your character when you don’t know them and they don’t know you. You can also learn from them, learn from others. The more positive side of things.

We all have secrets and some are worth keeping. Worth keeping just for you.

Stay awesome 😉

The Girl in the Green Shoes

2 thoughts on “Everybody has secrets…

    1. Yeah that’s how I feel, well most of the time. There are some people in my life who I love to pieces but don’t exactly “support” some of the things that make me who I am. I spent nearly the last 15 years caring more about other people than focusing on myself. I used to feel guilty when I thought about what I wanted and what makes me happy. Nowadays I feel that I can be more myself and do things I love without feeling selfish. This blog has certainly helped in that department

      Like

Leave a Reply

